A Love Business Plan

There are two things that I am passionate about in life. These passions are to become the best father and husband in world. How do I achieve these goals? How do we achieve any of our goals? Let’s take my goals and analyze, plan and execute them like you would any task at work.

Mission Statement:

I want to provide the best environment for my kids to be nurtured and educated in our ever-changing world. To devote my mind, body and soul to the people who are most important in my life. To provide my time, hard work and devotion to my caring spouse until time is no longer existent.

With our mission statement showing us our goals, we can now start making objectives to achieve them. Below is an example of how to create a good objective to achieve your goal.

Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Time orientated (SMART) Objectives:

S: I want to spend time playing with my kids.

M: I need to spend 2 hours or at a minimum of 1 hour a day.

A: Yes

R: Yes

T: Start next week

Smart Objective: I will spend at a minimum 1 hour a day playing with my kids starting on 10 April 2013.

Smart Objective: I will have 1 date bimonthly with my wife starting on 10 April 2013.

Well up to this point we have analyzed what is important and how we plan to achieve it. Unfortunately writing all these great things down is the easy part of the process. The next steps become the most important parts of the process to become effective in your love business plan.

After a couple of weeks of executing your plan you need to review the objectives and ensure that you are effectively accomplishing your vision. Take time to recall exactly what you did during the hour that you spent with your children to see if it aligns with your goal of being a good father. An example of alignment would be:

Day 1 – Watched TV with Boys

Day 2 – Took Boys to Chucky Cheese

Day 3 – Play XBOX with Boys

Is watching TV with the boys align with being a good father? Are the things you do with your children align with the goal you are trying to achieve? In this example, I would say no. If your analysis of the objective shows that you are aligning with your vision then continue. If your analysis is not leading you to your ultimate goal then adjust your actions. To ensure that you are making good analysis, ask someone you trust what their opinion is.

To conclude our Love Business Plan we must improve in our objectives annually in order to become closer to our goals. Don’t forget the last step because we can never achieve greatness if we do not work to get there.

Tell me what you think.

