The Childish Executive Dream

Once upon a time I actually believed in the American Dream. I believe that I could be anything I wanted to be when I grew up. As I matured in life’s unforgiving game, I realized that dreams and reality are two completely different realms.

Can a kid from the projects really be the CEO of Wal-Mart?

Ultimately the answer is yes in a perfect society. Remember the old saying, “Its not what you know, it’s who you know.” Although we all like to think that our hard work and determination will get us to our goals, it’s not realistic. While visiting my father a couple of years ago in Palo Alto, California, I realized that the networking machine was large at work. Live in the 2011 recession where jobs are supposedly at an all time low, I see a group of 18-year-old girls enjoying themselves over a $100 dollar dinner. I saw young kids driving $80,000 dollar cars. Students with name brand clothing like Gucci, Louis Vuitton and Joop. This all became very disturbing to me as I walk to find a decent restaurant that didn’t have a $100 menu. Leaning against a bench on the sidewalk I realized something. Even though we are in economical crises where graduates are unemployed, the rich will always be taken care of. I guess that Old money will always outlast New money. These kids already have their paths laid out for them as I struggle to pay the builds.

Do you really think that Mark Zurkerberg’s child is going to work at McDonald’s?

What can we do to change this?

 

